h1

Disappointment in Childhood Heroes

August 17, 2008

Today is good. However, on the flip side of things, I have been bitterly disappointed to find out some things about some of my childhood heroes. One especially. There is someone I always looked up to growing up and my son is following in my footsteps with that. I always admired this guy…and others with him. Now, I will never look at him, or them, the same again.

I was reading this guy’s bio to my son and started to fight tears when I came to the part about his being a Mason, a Shriner, a Knight Templar and member of a Masonic temple…in addition to his “christian” persona. My son asked me what was wrong. I did not tell him. Because this guy’s public persona seems to be so “right on”, I am not going to steal one of his heroes away from him. When he is older, it is time enough for him to know the truth.

It started me doing some research, though. In the process of researching the one, I uncovered a number of people with similar backgrounds that I had looked at as “heroes”. I know that a lot of people don’t see anything wrong with the Masons. So be it. I won’t argue with them. I am sure we won’t be able to convince each other to think differently. That’s OK.

It is sad, but it also points out again a very real truth…people are not always what they seem to be. They can have more than one persona. I mean…all of us do to some extent. We are mothers, wives, teachers, cleaners, counselors, etc. Those personas all kind of run together and overlap.

Sometimes, though, there can be personas that are drastically different. Sometimes, that difference includes acting for good or for evil. How many people have murdered someone and the neighbors said they thought the person was really nice, quiet, good neighbor, etc.? How many molesters walk around looking like “molesters”? What does a molester look like?

Truth is, people can have a darker side that only those who are very close to him or her can see. When all you know about someone is what you see on the silver screen and in media and in the public eye…well, you just don’t really know the person. It is the spouse, the children, those who live with a person who get a really good idea of what a person is like.

I am disappointed. I will get over it. *sigh*

Please feel free to share your thoughts.

