h1

Kluft – Video on Dissociative Identity Disorder

January 13, 2009

There is a series out on Showtime called “United States of Tara”. It is about a woman who has Dissociative Identity Disorder (D.I.D./DID) and her family. I have not seen the series. Showtime has a behind the scenes video on the series. They also have a second video with Richard P. Kluft, which I have embedded into my blog here.

In this second video,  Kluft talks about different aspects of DID…what it is like, some of its forms, its causes and how common it really is.  Obviously, there is only so much you can say about a very complex disorder in under 15 minutes, but I think he did a pretty good job, nonetheless.

The “over the top” form of DID, as Kluft calls it and as it is portrayed by Tara in the show, is in the minority. Also in the minority was Eve, as portrayed in the “The Three Faces of Eve” and Sybil, as portrayed in “Sybil”. Kluft also points out that most people who have it are pretty hidden. Their friends and family may not even know they have it because they are able to keep it so hidden.

Kluft also explains how DID has been around for a very long time. It just went by different names.  DID is not easy to live with…regardless of whether you are at the “over the top” end of the spectrum or at the hiding it very well end. It would be nice if more people could understand it and accept it…and accept those who have it. People with DID are not freaks. They are not crazy. They are people who have been through some very traumatic events in their lives and this is how they coped.

Kluft mentions “integration”. Integration is not something that every person with DID sees as desirable. Not all want it. The word itself does not even have a single definition. Whether “integrated” or not, there are many people who either have, or have had, DID who do actually get along pretty well in life. They have become united on some level to a common goal and have learned how to do life.

There are many others who struggle…a lot. They are tossed to and fro by DID and their lives are chaotic and stressful. They need acceptance and understanding. They need help to become stable…to be able to work with and through DID.

Having DID is not the end of the world. As Kluft points out…it is “curable”. They do know how to help people work through things and become better…however you choose to define that. It won’t look the same for every person, especially since not everyone who has DID is the same.

I hope that this video will help others to understand more about DID. Actually, even more importantly, I hope it might help others to better understand and accept the person who has DID. Here is the video:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

10 comments

  1. Nice!


  2. At 40 yrs old (1990) I had a complete emotional breakdown. Diagnosed with disthymia, Major Depression, PTSD. I’ve lived most of my life believing I was “crazy” because of memories and periods of my life I had no memory of. After numerous hospitalizations and suicide attempts, a doctor (a Dr. Fine, I think) told me I had MPD/D.I.D. Somehow this made me feel better, I was able to put a name to my condition. Unfortunately, I could not follow-up with proper thearpy due to finances. I am unable to work, unable to stay “present” long enough to hold a job. I’m SSA disabled and do receive some thearpy at the VA (I’m a Navy vet). But things are not going well, and it seems my disorder is a little beyond the capabilities of the VA. I’m not sure what to do anymore, and sometimes feel so tired of trying. Now 60, I sometimes think “What’s the point of continuing with thearpy?” Thank you for the video, I hope it helps others out there that are suffering with D.I.D. seek help.


    • Kris…I hope you can find some way to get help. Never give up hope. Read all you can. Talk to your system. I encourage you to find blogs about DID where you can get ideas and support to help you find your way. You are always welcome to read along here and I do have some blogs and info links listed in my sidebar. Perhaps they would be a starting place.


  3. I’ve tried survivor blogs and online groups. Their conversations center on complaints about their thearapists, jobs, etc. with little insight on how to cope. I chose not to participate in an “echo chamber” atmosphere. I’ve read most of the recent lit on MPD/D.I.D. thearpy protocols, new treatments (i.e. Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing). With little access to these programs I’m left within my system, disconnect, and very depressed. I have no support, no family member to count on b/c they were the abusers and enablers, and are firmly rooted in denial. What little thearpy I have received, I know many of my identified alters, not all. I have at least two abusers that seem stronger than the others. I try desperatly to stay “present” only to loose time, days at a time. The memories of incest, rape, torture, physical and emotional abuse are difficult to process and usually lead to dissociative periods. In the beginning, I didn’t believe these memories, but just before my mother passed away, she validated most of them and added others. She never appologized for her inaction to protect me or her physchological abuse, a narcarssistic personality never can. I’m left with a crowd in my head yelling at me, demanding and hurting the self. I feel my options are shrinking, my self-hate is increasing. I live alone, isolated out of fear of additional hurt and pain from the outside world. A last resort option is to hope the VA will admit me in their very limited, male vet orientated mental health ward for a few days and hope to re-group. After that, Don’t know what else to do or go. Thanks for listening and for replying “onesurvivor”.


    • There are some groups that are very self-focused in the sense of more complaining rather than any real work. However, there are some good groups out there. Thing is…you might need to try a few before you find a good one. You might want to try http://survivorship.org/. They have a forum that I know is very supportive. 🙂 Self-hate is really hard to work with. I encourage you to make connections online with safe survivors. Find the groups that ARE good!

      I am glad that you had your memories validated…even though she did not apologize. Many of us get no validation. And of those who do…rarely does someone get an apology…so you are certainly not alone with that.

      It can be really hard to be a survivor of that kind of stuff. Don’t give up. You are worth the work of finding good support. Seriously…check out Survivorship. There are a lot of good people there…people who do work hard on their healing.

      Come by any time. 🙂


  4. I just realized thru my foggy mind, that you are a blogger and not related to Dr. Kluft’s organization. I appologize for burdening you with my troubles. I’ve created a blog hoping I can journal thru everything.


    • No worries. That is part of why this blog is here…to help support others. I am not a professional…you are correct. However, I do have a caring heart and there are things I can relate to from my own experiences. I will check out your blog. Keep writing. Over time, you will find a community building. 🙂


  5. Hi! Thanks for your review about this video! We also found it to be educational and wanted to post it on our blog which is also on WordPress, but have not been able to embed it. Could you share with us how you did it?

    Thanks in advance!!


    • Hi, cetcetera! Welcome!

      With WordPress, you have to use VodPod to embed videos. Here is the site: http://vodpod.com/

      Vodpod provides a link button that you can put on your browser bookmark bar. When you see a video you like on a webpage, you click on the button and it grabs it for you and places it in your Vodpod account. I don’t really use my Vodpod account for anything other than embedding videos on my blogs.

      When Vodpod grabs the video, it gives you the option to publish it on your blog.

      If you can find the Kluft video on the United States of Tara Showtime site, you can grab it with Vodpod. If you cannot find it, I can give you the Vodpod code from my account that you can use to embed in your blog. Just let me know. I am glad to be of help. 🙂


      • Awesome!! I’ll try it! Thanks so much for your help!! 🙂



Please feel free to share your thoughts.

