h1

Feeling Overwhelmed…Again

July 1, 2009

I feel overwhelmed right now. I think my life is in transition and I am not sure just where I fit in or where I am to be.  Perhaps it is time to move out from at least one place I have been online. I don’t know. It does not feel as if I have much to offer there any more. Yet, every time I think of leaving, I see someone I can write to and someone I can touch. I don’t know. I need wisdom. I can only do so many things at once.

I really hope that, when my housing situation changes, it will make things easier. I suppose it does not help either that I am allergic to the area in which I live. It is not a pollen kind of thing. There is a micro-organism that lives around here. It makes me feel sick. Ick! *sigh*

Right now my head is sort of foggy and I am trying to think clearly. Emotionally, I feel overwhelmed. Perhaps it is flashbacks?  Probably. Earlier, I was almost doubled over with inside “pain”. Someone I know takes issue with calling it “pain”. He does not think, along with some others, that using words to describe physical symptoms should be used for emotional or mental ones. Their thinking is that it contributes to the idea that mental and emotional issues are “sicknesses”…physically caused.

I don’t know. I don’t really have a problem with it. I guess I could write that I felt/feel disturbed. I just know that what I feel inside can be so intense that it makes me literally want to double over…just like I do when I am in physical pain.

4 comments

  1. Oh, pain is pain!! I know exactly what you’re talking about. Emotional pain still hurts, and it hurts bad. It has had me doubled over for the past few weeks. I know it’s connected to my mother’s death, and it hurts as though I’ve been run over by a Mack truck.

    Your friend does you no favors by saying it’s not pain. It hurts like hell.


    • Thanks, Labyrinth.

      I know that my friend is struggling with the issues of a child who is bipolar. He sees what the meds are doing to him and is questioning whether the meds are really helping. He is wondering if the idea of using words that deal with the physical to also cover the emotional/mental realm are valid…or if they might be causing us to look for physical answers to spiritual problems.

      I appreciate his seeking. It does have me thinking about it, though. I have no answers. I just know it HURTS! Sure…it is a different kind of pain…but it sure feels like pain, nonetheless, to me.


  2. Ditto on what Labyrinth said. I just want you know that I am thinking of you. There are times I often wonder this pain that we all carry will ever go away, or will it diminsh in time. It is hard to tell. I can also relate to when to leave or not .. I did with one group this past month. I think it was more frustrated then moving on .. I don’t know yet.


    • Hey, sis! I miss you. I need to check my long distance again. Maybe they have added out of country to it? Wouldn’t that be nice!

      Leaving is never easy…but sometimes it is just time. It is not a negative thing. In fact, sometimes leaving is a positive thing…even a sign of growth…kind of like when you get rid of that favorite outfit that no longer fits who you are…or is just plain worn out!

      I hear you that staying can sometimes be more frustrating than moving on. I guess it depends up on the group and what is happening there. 🙂



Please feel free to share your thoughts.

