h1

Identity and Courage

July 23, 2009

I am sitting here thinking…about identity. At what point is identity important? When your name has been stolen and defamed…is it better to let go of that name and reinvent yourself? Or is it better to reclaim your name and just say “to heck” with those who opt to believe lies.

That is what I have been faced with. Do I hide my name? Or do I reclaim my name? It is something I have given a LOT of thought to…for quite awhile.

To some extent, I have allowed the fear that others  would run from me temper how much of myself I reveal. It is difficult not to feel very vulnerable.

2 comments

  1. One way you might try to help you overcome your mental and emotional problems as well as restore your good name over time is by allowing God to give you the grace to stand in the face of lies and slander.
    Jesus said, blessed are ye, when men shall revile you and persecute you, shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake. Rejoice and be exceedingly glad, for great is your reward in heaven (Matthew 5:11-12).
    Now of course that’s not natural or normal and I don’t suspect you can do that within yourself, but with God all things are possible. He can and will give you grace to overcome and endure all manner or evil if you will allow Him to.


    • That is definitely one way of looking at it. Although, my being impersonated and accused of doing awful things would probably not be considered obviously related to my being a servant of Yeshua…still, there are some who believe I was targeted because of my strong faith. There are some who believe it was an attempt to get me out of the way and to destroy my credibility and testimony.

      Their success was limited in that I refuse to serve another. I refuse to hate. I refuse to stop ministering in any way I can to other survivors. I have embraced and forgiven those who have acknowledged wrongdoing and asked me for forgiveness. I don’t hold grudges. I choose to recognize who my true enemy is…and it is not any person. I choose to love those who persecute me.

      I am questioning what is most prudent. This happened online. Online identities are easy to create. What is that my Abba wants me to do? I am not sure…but I think I have the answer already and am taking some steps toward it.



Please feel free to share your thoughts.

