h1

never…ever…give up

March 26, 2010

This was written on January 28, 2009.

never…ever…give up

jump here, jump there,
always play the game
life will never, never,
ever be the same

forget your dreams
forget your heart
just keep plugging along
forget your soul
forget your mind
this life is just a song

don’t be such a dreamer
wishing for something more
you’re stuck inside forever
you’ll never make the score

your wings are clipped
your mind has slipped
you’ll never learn to soar
your life is slight
not wrapped too tight
there’s never anything more

but you don’t have
to believe the lies
they tell you
to your face
pick up the salve
and break the ties
it’s your due
win the race

so take your feet
and stay the course
freedom’s no small feat
stay in the race
run to the Source
you’ll someday see His face

you were made for freedom
despite what they might say
He came to set you free
He came to make a way

so hold on tight
and don’t let go
the day’s not finished yet
He will make right
and them He’ll show
before the Son has set

never…ever…give up!

copyrighted

11 comments

  1. Beautiful, and so profound.


  2. Nice, thanks.


  3. I have always lived with the belief that if I give up and end it all, my abusers have won and I refuse to let that happen. That is just how stubborn I am. That is why I have worked so hard to have the kind of life that I deserve as a child of God.


    • What you wrote made me smile, Patricia. You go, girl!


  4. I agree with Patricia. My husband is in a Bible based cult and if I were to give up on our marriage I feel that the abusers have won and I also refuse to let that happen. Great post! Sorry that you are feeling sick!


    • I hear you, Heather. In my case, I wrestled with the idea of what was the lesser of two evils. My children were being hurt in the marriage and I knew they would be hurt if I took them out of it. I prayed very hard for wisdom and I sought wise counsel. I never took a step that the L-rd did not make it really clear that it was what I was to do. The miracle for me is that I actually got out…alive…and I took my sons with me.

      Everyone’s situation is different and the answer is the same for all of us…we need the wisdom of the Holy Spirit to guide us. I was determined not to be another statistic…another failed marriage. However, when the L-rd made it clear that I was going to “die”…I knew I had to obey Him. It is a bit of a story that I might share at some point. Hmmm…maybe I should title another draft! 🙂


  5. You wrote: In my case, I wrestled with the idea of what was the lesser of two evils. My children were being hurt in the marriage and I knew they would be hurt if I took them out of it. I prayed very hard for wisdom and I sought wise counsel. I never took a step that the L-rd did not make it really clear that it was what I was to do. The miracle for me is that I actually got out…alive…and I took my sons with me.

    Everyone’s situation is different and the answer is the same for all of us…we need the wisdom of the Holy Spirit to guide us. I was determined not to be another statistic…another failed marriage. However, when the L-rd made it clear that I was going to “die”…I knew I had to obey Him. It is a bit of a story that I might share at some point. Hmmm…maybe I should title another draft!

    I hope you make another draft after the weekend has passed. It’s hard for all of us, but you… you choose to fly. Good for you. Keep flying. It always matters.
    ~meredith


  6. Wow, this is really awesome… I’m reading it and I hear a song in my head!!!!



Please feel free to share your thoughts.

