h1

Some Quotes…

May 2, 2010

The Vague Collective…on their blog “The Search for Clarity” has three quotes that I really like. Well…actually she has more than three, but these three are what I want to share right now.

“It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.” – E.E. Cummings So true. It seems like there are so many out there trying to mold us into what they want us to be…which may be entirely different from who we really are. hasatan in the garden tried to mold Adam and Eve into something they were not. His attempts brought sin into the world. He is still trying to mold us. Our parents tried to mold us. Our abusers tried to mold us. Bosses, neighbors, siblings, teachers, etc. …all tried to mold us.

There is only One I want molding me…the Creator of the universe. I want His Ruach/Spirit dwelling within me to mold me. I want Yeshua/Jesus to mold me through what He did for me. I want my heavenly Abba/Father to mold me into the image of His Son…who is an image of Him. I don’t pretend to understand it all. In fact, the more I learn, the more I realize I do NOT know or understand. But I do understand this…Yeshua took on all of my blow-its…all of my ugliness…all of my failures and sinfulness. He paid the penalty so that I would not have to. He opened the door to forgiveness…and freedom. He kept me alive. He keeps me alive. So much of my healing comes from and through Him. He holds me together when I cannot take another step.

As hard as it is…I like being molded into what He created me to be…the me I really am.

“You don’t have a soul. You are a Soul. You have a body.” – C.S Lewis   I really like this. I am not my body. And just as I am not my body…I am also not the things I have done…or the things that have been done to me. I am a Soul. That Soul is unique to me…it makes me who I am…different from every other Soul that has ever existed. My Soul is eternal. My body will fade away…just as my past will fade away…and all the things I have done or that have been done to me will fade away. I am a Soul! I have a body. I like that.

“Love means to love that which is unlovable; or it is no virtue at all.” – GK Chesterton (…and that includes usselfs!)  I agree with Chesterton and I agree with the Vague Collectives add-on. Love that comes easy isn’t really a virtue. There are times in my life that I have not been very lovable. I am so grateful for those people who loved me anyway. They are the truly virtuous ones!

Thank you, Vague Collective, for these quotes!

2 comments

  1. I love the quote by C.S. Lewis. It really helps us to remember that we are much more than our bodies. Our sick culture, in which we are exposed to over 250,000 ads by the age of 17 – wants us to believe that thinness is beauty. But all in all, “Man looks at outward appearance, but God looks at the heart.” That’s in I or II Samuel, I can’r remember because it’s too late tonight !

    I am a licensed mental health counselor writing a book called, “Fannies: Reclaiming the Plunder of the Body Image Bandit.” Body image and food issues are much more about our hearts and our stories than food or calories. Check out my blog and let me know your thoughts. http://www.cherriemac.wordpress.com. Thank you and keep writing! Cherrie Herrin-Michehl, MA, LMHC


    • Thank you for coming by, Cherrie! I have been checking out your blog and love your sense of humor. Man…a sense of humor is so key in my life. It helps me get through so many things.

      I see your blog is about body image. Boy have I been there…in so many ways. It is good to see someone writing about how that subject relates to the other issues in our lives. It is also good that you share G-d’s perspective on things. 🙂



Please feel free to share your thoughts.

