h1

It Is Time…

March 1, 2011

I have thoughts in my mind and heart. I am not sure how they will come out, but I will give it a go.

Part of being in the blogosphere is that people follow people’s blogs. They list them in their blogrolls. They read them. They comment on them. With the millions of blogs out there, how on earth does one decide which ones to follow and which ones to comment on?

I have different reasons for trying to follow someone’s blog. (Please note that word “try”.) Sometimes it has to do with them sharing information that is useful to me…and, perhaps, useful to others. Perhaps we share a common experience…or a common belief. Perhaps I have connected with the person in some way…either in person or online. Perhaps, I have discovered that they have my blog on their blogroll (which always amazes me). Perhaps, they are struggling and do not appear to have much support. There are many ways to connect and many reasons for trying to follow them and stay connected.

“Trying” is the key word here. The fact is that there are too many blogs for me to follow…too many for me to comment on. So, how do I decide what to read and what to comment on? It isn’t easy. With all the options I listed in the above paragraph, there are still simply too many to follow. To add to that, as I read others’ blogs, I see commenters I relate to and, so I end up looking at THEIR blog! It seems the list just keeps on growing. Then I feel badly because I cannot keep up. I need to be realistic.

One of the things I tend to look for, in addition to relating and feeling I have a connection with the person, is those who have the fewest…or even no…comments. I feel they need the greatest support. Oftentimes, I do not comment on a post simply because there are so many already commenting. I tend to look for the ones with the fewest comments. Still…I simply cannot keep up.

Add to that the blogging challenges that have put out there of late…blogging daily…or at least weekly. I saw that challenge and my heart sank. You see…if everyone is posting every day…who has time to read every day…and maybe even comment every day. Mind you…I am NOT saying people should not post daily if they want. That goes back to why do we blog? If someone wants to blog every day…that is fine. However, I cannot read it all. That is something I think daily bloggers tend to forget. The more people are writing…the less people are reading. There are only so many hours in a day.

Which of course leads to the flip side of this. In the process of trying to follow all these other blogs, it is easy to lose sight of doing my own writing! I have several blogs…for different purposes. I have a set of three survivor blogs that I am trying to maintain, but I also another set of blogs for a different purpose. That set will, hopefully, soon be condensed down into one more focused blog. The more I read…the less I write on my own blogs.

That is actually OK…for a season, but it is not good for a long time. Which brings me to the question…why do I even blog? It is something I have been thinking about for the last week or so and I am going to answer that in another post. I am realizing that I need to really think through my reasons for blogging. Once I clarify that I can decide how to proceed from here.

It is time…for me to start writing again…right here…in my own blogs.

 

2 comments

  1. I agree! There are so many wonderful blogs to read and so much experience to glean from. It really is hard to decide what to read and I find myself getting behind and often I have trouble writing myself for several reasons, one being time! But another is sometimes I have something else that has to be written first and it’s way too intense to just blog about, so I have to allow time (never enough of that) to write that THEN i can blog. I attempted the daily but I’m beyond able to stay up with that- I tried LOL!


    • I am very blessed by the things I read. Oftentimes, I find myself thinking as I comment that I should really be writing about this on my blog. So, in a sense, I still get the benefit of writing when I write comments. However, I cannot go back and find them again when I don’t put it in my own blog. LOL

      Ah, well. I will just keep doing the best I can. Right now, though, it is time for me to focus a bit more on my own writing and my own blogs.

      Thanks for coming by!



Please feel free to share your thoughts.

