h1

Formatting Poetry…

March 31, 2011

I wrote to WordPress Support about formatting poetry. A really nice guy named Jose got right back to me! He gave me this link for getting those alternating indenting lines. Here is the link he gave me: Writing and Formatting Poetry

The poetry formatting page tells me to use the “Preformatted” setting on the drop down menu. I was able to get it to work, but I really need to play around with it a bit more to see what all it can do.

Then I asked him about font styles. He sent me these two links to explore with: Typetester and Font Size and Color. Typetester shows what fonts look like. It will even give you CSS coding…which, of course…does me NO good since I am clueless when it comes to CSS.

Font Size and Color works with HTML and the options already present on our editor. That is a bit more workable. However, don’t expect anything fancy over on the poetry page just yet. So far, my experience with font style is that I have to add HTML for every single paragraph! And how much do you want to bet it will be every single line if I indent? Yikes! (Actually…I have no idea. Perhaps, it WILL be easier. I sure hope so!

I will have to play and experiment…when I have time…something which is in limited supply right now.

4 comments

  1. Wow, you been busy today … was thinking of my moving my poems over to wordpress from the allpoetry site … havent done any for awhile.


    • Formatting is a little more work and you don’t have all the backgrounds and such of all poetry. However, I do like having everything in “one” place. I have not removed any from there…just started putting some up here. Some here were there, but I don’t think all of them are. I don’t really remember! LOL


  2. Thank you so much for sharing all of this with the rest of us! You’re just such a good egg…

    ((((OS))))

    love you,

    ~meredith~


    • Thanks, Meredith! I think I am typically a scrambled egg! LOL

      love and hugs back!



Please feel free to share your thoughts.

