h1

June 4, 2012

There are some good thoughts here on finding a good therapist. Just thought I would pass it on to you.

Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma in Tucson

Finding a therapist who is a good fit for you is one of the best predictors of a successful therapy outcome. Is it even harder for trauma survivors? Judging by the number of requests I get for help with this search, it looks like yes. Unfortunately it is true that not all therapists are trained in understanding and treating trauma. The pool may narrow further if you are seeking someone with expertise in treating complex trauma or dissociation.

When I receive calls or email seeking a therapist with these areas of expertise in a particular state (or country) I am happy to share the resources I have. Alas, I do not know trauma therapists in every location! There are some great sources and directories out there, though, and I have decided to feature them more prominently on my blog sidebar. Check out the new heading “Find a Trauma Therapist

View original post 175 more words

One comment

  1. […] will have to do. Although, after reading the post by Dr. Kathleen Young that I shared two posts back, now I am wondering if maybe she has Skype. It would be SO nice to be able to see her, as well as […]



Please feel free to share your thoughts.

